Monday Mixtape: Fahrland

blue is the warmest color xtended

Last Friday saw the release of “Mixtape Vol.1“, the long-awaited return of Alexander Geiger under his new alias Fahrland on Kompakt. His new album is on heavy rotation since it hit our office a few weeks back, which led us to write a pretty euphoric review:

“Remember the times when electronic music was this free-floating beast? When pop and dance and ambient and funk references were equal partners to a fundamental passion for the rather obscure? When a constantly shape-shifting sound universe wasn’t connected to arbitrariness but to a fully-formed creative spirit? Well, Alexander Geiger’s return under a new moniker after an eight-year hiatus pays tribute to exactly that - and the result hardly couldn’t be a more satisfying one.“

Aforementioned constantly shape-shifting sound universe plays an essential role in Geiger's entry to our Monday Mixtape series as well, which delivers a colourful and predominantely mellow bouquet of favourite songs of his that gives the audience a brief insight into his musical socialization. All niced out. Enjoy.

Tracklist: 01. Mount Kimbie – Break Well / 02. James Blake – Limit to your love (DJ ONENESS EDIT) / 03. Unknknown / 04. Jeff Buckley – Hallelujah / 05. Dina Washington – I`ll Close my eyes (DJ ONENESS EDIT) / 06. Bon Iver – Holoscene / 07. Banks – Warm Water (DJ ONENESS EDIT) / 08. Ariel Pink – Baby / 09. Jai Paul – All Night / 10. The Field – No No / 11. RY X – Berlin / 12. Nina Simone – Who knows where the time goes / 13. Blood Orange – Champagne Coast / 14. Jerry Garcia – Love Scene / 15. New Radicals - I hope i didn`t just give away the ending / 16. Ryan Adams – Do i wait / 17. Louis Armstrong – La Vie en Rose