Laax Open Finals 2022

the recap

...and the winners are Sean Fitzsimons (USA) and Tess Coady (AUS) – Back on the podium Stale Sandbech (NOR) and Anna Gasser (AUT) – First podium for Annika Morgan (GER) for the Slopestyle!

Chloe Kim (USA) and Ayumu Hirano (JPN) are the LAAX OPEN 2022 Halfpipe champions – Jan Scherrer (2., SUI) and Shaun White (3., USA) are on the podium.

What a way to wrap up the LAAX OPEN 2022! The supreme highlight of the week was, without a doubt, the Superpipe Night Finals under floodlights at Crap Sogn Gion. A truly magical atmosphere after sunset at 2,252 metres above sea level, combined with sensational riding and rapturous fans. And she did it again! Last year’s winner Chloe Kim (USA) is once more on the top step of the podium at the Superpipe Night Finals of the last FIS World Cup before the Olympic Winter Games and is thus a four-time LAAX winner!  Mitsuki Ono (JPN) came in second, with Spain’s Queralt Castellet completing the podium in third place.

In the men’s competition, Ayumu Hirano dominated in commanding form. Nine years after his last victory here in LAAX, the Japanese, who also competed in the 2021 Summer Olympics in skateboarding, took the win. Jan Scherrer, multiple fourth place at the LAAX OPEN, finally made it onto the podium at Crap Sogn Gion with an incredible second run. Third place goes to triple Olympic champion Shaun White, rounding off the medal set at the OPEN contests in LAAX: 2008 gold in Slopestyle, 2009 silver in halfpipe, 2022 bronze in Halfpipe.

watch the full HP - finals here.

Australia‘s Tess Coady is the LAAX OPEN 2022 Slopestyle winner … leading after the first run, she topped her own high score in the second run with an incredible performance, taking home 86.18 points.
In second place is Olympic champion Anna Gasser (AUT), making it onto the podium at Crap Sogn Gion for the first time since 2017. Third and for the first time in the top three in LAAX is young Annika Morgan (GER) with a sensational second run.
In the men’s competition, the US team wowed across the board with three riders in the top four. Sean Fitzsimons (USA) is the LAAX OPEN 2022 Slopestyle champion: “Dream weather, dream course, a brilliant day!” Second place goes to LAAX veteran Stale Sandbech (NOR), the only one to break through the US phalanx, followed by young talent Jake Canter (USA).